Employees can be assigned to different security groups in Planday with each one granting different privileges. This feature may be useful when you need to add managerial staff such as schedule managers or HR managers.


Permission levels in Planday

There are four different levels of permission that you can assign to an employee:

Admin / Administrator

Administrator is the highest level of permission and has full administrative access to Planday. Admin can view and edit payroll information, make changes to all schedules, and edit employee details. Additionally, the Admin role can add and remove administrative permissions for other employees, or disable their accounts. For this reason, it is recommended that Admin permission is granted with caution.

HR Manager

HR managers can create new employees and edit all employee information, except salary. HR managers in Planday can also manage employee contracts, administer holiday requests, and make schedule reports among other specialities.

Schedule Manager

A Schedule manager in Planday can create and edit schedules. Schedule managers cannot view or edit payroll, but they can see payroll costs per day in the schedule. This role can be limited by department, preventing managers from editing shifts across other departments.

Account Admin

⚠️ Please note, that as of May 2021, a new permission level has been introduced: Account Admin.
The Account Admin security group is, as of now, the default group for those responsible for signing up and setting up Planday for their organization. Pending future updates, this new Security group, might allow decision-makers to manage their organization in Planday more efficiently.
This addition will not affect your existing configuration, for security groups and access permissions. Instead, the Account Admin group is meant for information purposes and does not grant access to any of the Planday features, on its own.
Please continue to use the 3 permission levels outlined below to manage access and data security within your organization. ⚠️

The following table outlines all permissions per role:



How to give additional permissions to an employee

To add or remove administrative permissions for an employee you can follow these steps:

  1. Go to People and then Employees to view all employees.

  2. Use the search function or scroll to find the employee whose permissions you wish to update.

  3. Click on their name to open their details.

  4. Under the Permissions section press + Add to assign additional permissions to the employee.


Limit manager permissions by Department

You can limit the permissions of administrators or managers by Department. For example, you can have two Schedule managers who each have access only to the Department they manage.

To adjust these settings follow the steps below:

  1. Go to People and then Employees to view all employees.

  2. Click on the name of the employee, whose permissions should be limited, the same way you would add a new permission.

  3. Under the Permissions field, edit the permission you wish to limit.

  4. Under Department access section, press Select and then Select Departments to choose the department to limit the employee's permissions should be limited to. This can also be done when adding new permissions. Press Save to apply your changes.

💡Please note: If your company uses ‘Primary departments’ you can choose if the permission for each department should be for all employees or only the employees who have that primary department set.


Still have questions? Reach out to our support team via chat if you need help regarding permissions.

See related articles:

Did this answer your question?