Employees can be assigned to different Security groups in Planday with each one granting different privileges. This feature may be useful when you need to add managerial staff such as team leaders or human resources.

There are three different levels of permission that you can assign to an employee:

Admin:  Has full administrative access to Planday, can view and edit payroll information, and make changes to all schedules. Additionally, the Admin role can add and remove administrative permissions for other employees, or disable their accounts. As such it is recommended that Admin permission  is granted with caution.

HR Manager:  Can create new employees and edit all employee information, except salary.

Schedule Manager:  Can create and edit schedules. Can not view or edit payroll, but can see payroll costs per day. This role can be limited by department, preventing the employee from editing shifts across all departments.


⚠ Please note, that as of May 2021, a new permission level has been introduced: Account Admin.

The Account Admin security group is, as of now, the default group for those responsible for signing up and setting up Planday for their organization.

Pending future updates, this new Security group, might allow decision-makers to manage their organization in Planday more efficiently.

This addition will not affect your existing configuration, for Security groups and access permissions. Instead, the Account Admin group is meant for information purposes and does not grant access to any of the Planday features, on its own.

Please continue to use the 3 permission levels outlined below to manage access and data security within your organization.


The following table outlines all permissions per role:

To add or remove these permissions for an employee you can follow these steps:

  • Click on People and then Employees to view all employees.

  • Use the search function or scroll to find the employee whose permissions you want to update permissions.

  • Click on their name to see their details.

  • Under the Permissions field, add or remove permissions for the employee. (Note: If you are carrying out this action on mobile you will first need to select ‘Edit’ at the top right of your screen.)

Limit permissions by Department

You can limit the permissions of administrators by Department. For example, you can have two Schedule managers who each have access only to the Department they manage.

To adjust these settings follow the steps below:

  • Click on People and then Employees to view all employees.

  • Click on the name of the employee, whose permissions should be limited, the same way you would add a new permission.

  • Under the Permissions field, edit the permission you want to limit.

  • Under Department access, click Select > Select Departments and choose the Departments this employee's permissions should be limited to. This can also be done when adding new permissions.

Please note: If your company uses ‘Primary departments’ you can choose if the permission for each Department should be for all employees or only the employees who have that primary department set:

Did this answer your question?