💡 Please note that deactivated employees do not count towards your employee count and you will not be billed for them.
Deactivate an Employee's user account
When an employee leaves your company, you can deactivate their account to prevent any further access to Planday. To deactivate an employee follow these steps:
Go to People > Employees.
Search for the employee you want to deactivate and click on their name.
Under the employee’s information overview, press the trash icon 🗑. to deactivate the employee.
In the deactivate employee prompt that opens you can either deactivate the employee immediately or set a future automatic deactivation date.
You will also need to choose whether to set the employee’s future shifts to open or leave them assigned to the employee if they will work their remaining future assigned shifts in the Schedule.
Finally, you can add a confidential note visible only to HR managers and Admins to document the reason for deactivating the employee.
Reactivate an Employee's user account
To reactivate an employee, go to People and select the employee. Click the pencil edit icon next to their name and select Reactivate under User information on the left.
You can also see a list of deactivated employees by going to People > Employees > under the Misc section on the left, look for Deactivated. Press the employee's name and there you can find the option to Reactivate Employee.
Set up notifications for Deactivation
Planday can notify you and selected employees, via in-product message and/or an SMS, should another employee's account be deactivated. Go to Settings > Portal Settings > Notifications > Deactivated, then add the required recipients to your list.
Please note: When selecting Add you will be shown a list of all employees. Only employees with the permission to deactivate other employee user accounts (Admin and HR Manager security groups) will be notified of deactivation, even if you add them to this list.
Inactive Employee Account Deletion
In accordance with the right to be forgotten, under certain circumstances, and only on request and approval from a portal admin, the Planday support team may action requests to permanently delete employee accounts.
To delete an employee account, that account must have been inactive for 5+ years at a minimum. This is because data in the Planday portal is used for HR and payroll regulatory reporting by employers.
If an account is inactive for less than 5+ years, an employee firstly needs to contact their admin to see whether data can be removed.
If there is agreement from the portal admin that data can be deleted, then employee data may be permanently deleted, and cannot be retrieved at all. Data related to the account may also be rendered irretrievable.
We recommend only taking this action when strictly necessary and with due caution, for example, an employee will lose all payroll and HR history.
To request an account deletion, please contact your portal admin first, or the Planday Support team.
Automatically delete deactivated Employees
Depending on where your business operates, you may have a legal obligation as an employer to permanently delete information on former employees after their employment has ended.
This is also relevant for staying compliant with your employees’ right to be forgotten, according to GDPR legislation.
To automatically delete deactivated users from your Planday account, go to Settings > People > General > Delete deactivated Employees, to turn on the feature and set how many months after deactivation a user should be permanently deleted from your Planday account.
Still have questions? Reach out to our support team via chat if you need help regarding account deletion and reactivation.
See related articles: