Depending on your requirements, you may need to delete or restore deleted departments in Planday. See which important aspects you need to consider regarding schedules and shifts when you take any of these actions in this article.

How to Delete an existing Department in Planday

You can delete Departments in Planday by following a few simple steps.

Please take extra caution when carrying out this action. Deleting a Department causes schedules in that Department to be deleted along with any information associated with that Department.

To delete a Department from Planday go to People > Departments > press the name of the department that you would like to delete > press Delete.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.209.png
Planday EN Screenshots for HC.211.png

When you take this action you will be greeted with a pop-up message asking you to confirm your decision. Press Deleteagain to confirm your choice or press Cancel to discontinue.

⚠️ We recommend that you review any existing schedules associated with the Department before deletion, as schedules within that department will be automatically deleted along with the Department information. The Shifts will not be deleted but remain in the individual employees' profiles under the Shifts section after the department has been deleted.


How to Restore a previously deleted Department

You have the option to restore a previously deleted Department in case it was removed by mistake. This can be done by going to People > Departments > pressing the Restore Department button to the left of Create Department button.

💡 The number of active departments you are allowed to have in total depends on your Planday subscription plan. On a Starter Planday package, you will be limited to having only one department whereas the Plus and Pro packages allow up to 5 or more departments. Reach out to us if you need us to extend this limit or upgrade your existing plan by visiting the Account section.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.214.png

Note that when you press Restore Department, you will be given the choice of retaining employee memberships in that Department.

Keep employee memberships: ☑️ Select this option if you would like to restore the employees that were part of this department including the schedules that they were part of. If Keep employee memberships is not ticked, then employees will not be added again to the department. However, you will still see the shifts they had before the deletion and restoration, in the schedule, with their names crossed out until you add them to the department manually.


Still have questions? Reach out to our support team via chat if you need help regarding this feature.

See related articles:

Did this answer your question?