Disclaimer:

This feature is currently in testing and only available upon request.
If you'd like to see how this feature works and have a say in how it shapes up, please contact us to join the beta testing group.

As you use the Business metrics feature, you might find that you need to create more metrics or make changes to your existing business metrics.

After you created your first metric, the Business metrics page will become an overview page where you can

  • create more metrics
  • edit & save changes for your the existing metrics
  • delete the metrics you no longer use.

All your metrics will be under Schedule > Business metrics.

On the left side, you can see all your existing metrics, listed by their name and ID. Your Data metrics will feature a ⊞ icon, while your Formula metrics will feature a ⨍× icon.

As an example the picture below, shows:

  • a Data metric (the one called Demand planning example, with the #DEMAND_PLANNING ID)
  • and a Formula metric (the one called Overview for demand planning, with the #DEMAND_PLANNING_SCHED_VIEW ID)

At the top of the list, there is a ⨁ Create business metric option, which will bring up the window you've already seen for creating Data - Business metrics or Formula - Business metrics.

Editing Business metrics

From the same list of metrics on the left of the overview page, you can edit any metric.

You will need to tap the ✏️ edit icon, that appears when you hover over a metric on the list. Simply selecting the metric, will only allow you to enter data (for a Data - Business metric) or tweak the metric formula (for a Formula - Business metric)

Here's what you can edit:

  • for Data metrics: the metric name and the unit type
  • for Formula metrics: the metric name, the unit type, and whether it should be visible in the Schedule.

When editing a metric, you also have the option of deleting the metric.

If your metric is referenced anywhere else, deleting it will break the Formula metric that used it. This means that you will no longer be able to see the metric you deleted or the formula that referenced it, in your Schedule.

Keep in mind that once deleted, the information held by a Business metric will be lost and not possible to recover. Also, once a metric is deleted, you will be able to reuse its ID for another metric.

Next: Business metrics use case: demand planning

Previous: Displaying Business metrics in Schedule

Did this answer your question?