Managing employee data is an important process, that needs to be robust from a data security perspective, yet flexible and convenient for managers and admins.

Employees list - viewing employee data

Everything you need in terms of managing or viewing employee data starts under People > Employees.

Here, you'll first see a list of all your employees - view restricted by your security permissions.

This means that depending on your permission, the employee list overview will show:

  • First and Last names for your employees or colleagues;
  • Contact information (email, phone number) - if their contact info is publicly available, throughout your organization.
    You can read more about visibility and access settings for personal details, in this article.
  • An avatar or picture. When an employee has a picture uploaded to their profile, it will be displayed to the left of their name on the Employees page. If no picture is uploaded, their avatar will show their initials instead.
    (To learn more about how to upload a profile picture, please follow this guide).

By default, with an HR manager permission or higher (read more here), you can view and edit much more than basic details, including:

  • standard fields, available under Employee details, from the top-left corner of the list, for example:

Simply select the fields you want to have shown as columns in the list, and then click Save. The corresponding details will now be visible on the overview list.

The list can be sorted ascending or descending from each column header, and you can hide the side menu if you need to see more columns on the screen.

  • days since Last shift, useful for making scheduling or staff decisions based on scheduled shifts.
    You can sort the list based on this field, to identify easily which employees have been away or which have recently been at work.
  • custom fields, that you have already created or can create as needed from Settings > People > Employee form setup.
    The Employee form setup page offers you a range of fields that you can use to organize your employee data, including simple text fields, yes/no fields, dropdown menus with related text fields, and much more.
    Within the same form setup, as an admin, you can decide and configure who can have access to view or edit each field.
  • permissions overview, showing you which Departments your managers can view or edit information from. This list can be found on the same page (People > Employees) under the Security groups section.
    In this column, a starred Department highlights a restriction on a manager's access rights. The star indicates that they can only manage the employees that have that Department set as Primary.
    You can change this hovering over the person, and click on the key symbol that shows up.

Clicking on the key will take you to the Permissions menu, where you can choose which department the manager will have access to. Here, you can decide whether they can manage all the employees within that department or only those with the department set as primary.


Within the same page, viewing information can sometimes prove inconvenient when browsing through a long list of employees.

Planday offers you 2 ways to show only relevant information:

1. Managed employees toggle.

As its name says, this toggle will filter out and show only the employee data for your employees or team members, that you can manage and edit.
The toggle can be found on the left-hand side of the list (see below).

2. Search field

The field at the top lets you to narrow the list in a matter of seconds, allowing you to search by:

  • First/Last name
  • Email address
  • Phone/Mobile number
  • Salary ID
  • Tax ID (e.g. SSN, CPR, Nino, etc).

To add even more flexibility to employee data management in Planday, this area of the system benefits from an additional View-only permission (for HR manager).

When used, this permission allows viewing access to all the employee data available, permitting no changes.
If this is a feature you would like to use, please contact our support team to have it enabled.

Employees list - managing employee data

Whether you are just starting to set up your organization in Planday, or are making structural changes, bulk actions will help you save time.

If you need to make small changes, for a few employees, this article might be of help.

The People menu and related pages hold everything you need for efficient management of employee data.

Some of your options to manage data for several employees at once are:

  • Bulk create and invite employees to Planday, under People > Employees > Tools > Employee import via template
    You can read more about how to import or create employee data for all your employees in one go, in this article.
  • Bulk add to a Department or Employee Group.
    On the People > Employee groups page, you will find both an overview of the groups in use for your organization and the option to edit them. (✏️ pencil icon from the right side).
    Editing an employee group allows you to set a default pay rate, a salary code identifier for your payroll, and to Add employees to the group. (or remove them). The top right corner button opens a new window where you can filter, search for and select your employees, as needed.

    Similarly, you can Add employees to a Department, from People > Departments > Edit (✏️ pencil icon from the right side). Find the Add employees button in the top right corner of the newly opened window and follow the same steps as descrided for Employee groups.
  • Edit wages (in bulk), which lets you select all the employee profiles that need a wage update and get it done in a few steps.

    From People > Employee Groups > Edit (✏️ pencil icon from the right side), select the employees that need a wage update. Using the filters available, select the employees from the list, by toggling their individual checkbox.
    Once you're done selecting, find the Edit wages option, at the bottom of the screen ( the same pencil icon ✏️).

    A new window will open up, where you can set the Wage, Wage type, and define which date the change will be Valid from. Save and you're done.
    The change is recorded and can be found in the change history, on the edit wage view for each employee.

We recommend that you pay extra attention to details when using options for more than one employee at once.

If in doubt or in need of assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team.

Did this answer your question?