🎯 For admins. Learn how to create shifts here. Familiarise yourself with the Schedule here.

💡Note on the examples from the browser version: The view of the Schedule shown is the Employee view, but functionality is the same across views.

💡 Note on the examples from the app: This article shows the iOS version. As an Android user, you will notice minor differences in the design, but the functionality is the same.


How to move Shifts on the Schedule

Drag and drop a Shift to the day an employee should be scheduled to work. This feature is handy if you use Open shifts during the Employee view. Simply drag an Open shift and drop it to assign it to an employee.

Move Shifts in the Planday app

Press and hold the Shift and select Move. Then tap on the place in the Schedule where you want to move the Shift - a blue plus must be visible there.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.001.png

How to copy Shifts on the Schedule

Hold down the Alt / ⎇ Option key (on Mac) or the Alt key (on Windows). While doing so, select the Shift and drag the copy to the desired location on the Schedule until a small green plus appears on it.

Alternatively, click on the three dots on the Shift and press Copy shift from the drop-down list.

💡 You can also create copies when creating Shifts.

Copy Shifts in the Planday app

Press and hold the Shift and select Copy. Then tap on the place in the Schedule where you want to copy the Shift - a blue plus must be visible there for this.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.001.png

How to delete Shifts from the Schedule

You have several options to delete a shift from the Schedule:

  • Option 1 - Tap on Shift to open it and press Delete in the edit window from the bottom.

  • Option 2 - Select one or more Shifts via the checkbox and press the Delete 🗑 icon from the edit bar at the bottom.

  • Option 3 - Click on the three dots on the Shift and select Delete shift from the drop-down list.

  • Option 4 - Navigate to Tools > Delete this week to delete all shifts from the current week.

💡When deleting Shifts, consider using the Notify employee option to alert employees via a Planday message or SMS. (SMS charges may apply.)

Delete a shift from the Planday app

Press and hold the Shift and select Delete. Optionally, you can notify the employee if you activate the slider in the confirmation window. Confirm by pressing OK.

If you have opened a Shift for editing, you will also find the option Delete shift at the bottom.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.001.png

How to approve Shifts on the Schedule

💡 If you have set up the Punch Clock on Planday, follow the specific instructions in the article Approve Punch Clock entries.

Approving allows you to mark in the Schedule that shifts have been completed and that they're ready for Payroll.

You have several options for approving Shifts:

  • Option 1 - Click on a Shift to open it, switch the slider under Payroll to Approve and confirm via Save.

  • Option 2 - Select one or more shifts using the checkbox and click on the tick icon ✔️ from the action bar at the bottom to Approve shifts.

  • Option 3 - While hovering over a shift with your mouse, click on the three dots and select Approve from the drop-down list.

  • Option 4 - Navigate to Tools > Approve multiple shifts. Select the days of the week whose shifts you want to mark completed and press Approve.

Approved shifts take on a 🟢 green colour in the Schedule.

Approve Shifts in the Planday app

Tap on a Shift. In the Edit shift view, scroll down to Ready for payroll. Switch the slider and confirm by pressing the tick symbol ✔️ (Android) or Save (iOS) at the top right.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.001.png

Still have questions? Reach our support team via chat if you need help with this feature.

See related articles:


Did this answer your question?