Depending on your requirements, you may need to Delete or Restore deleted Departments in Planday. See which essential aspects you need to consider regarding schedules and Shifts when you take any of these actions.
How to Delete an existing Department in Planday
You can delete Departments in Planday by following a few simple steps.
Please take extra caution when carrying out this action. Deleting a Department causes schedules in that Department to be deleted along with any information associated with that Department.
To delete a Department from Planday go to People > Departments > press the name of the Department you would like to delete > press Delete.
When you take this action, you will be greeted with a pop-up message asking you to confirm your decision. Press Delete again to confirm your choice or press Cancel to discontinue.
⚠️ We recommend you review any existing schedules associated with the Department before deletion, as schedules within that department will be automatically deleted along with the Department information. The Shifts will not be deleted but will remain in the individual employees' profiles under the Shifts section after the department has been deleted.
How to Restore a previously deleted Department
You can restore a previously deleted Department in case it was removed by mistake. This can be done by going to People > Departments > pressing the Restore Department button to the left of Create Department button.
💡 The number of active departments you are allowed to have in total depends on your Planday subscription plan. On a Starter Planday package, you will be limited to having only one department, whereas the Plus and Pro packages allow up to 5 or more departments. Contact us if you need us to extend this limit or upgrade your existing plan by visiting the Account section.
Note that when you press Restore Department, you will be given the choice of retaining employee memberships in that Department.
Keep employee memberships: ☑️ Select this option if you would like to restore the employees that were part of this Department, including the schedules they were part of. If Keep employee memberships is not selected, then employees will not be added again to the Department. However, you will still see the shifts they had before the deletion and restoration in the Schedule, with their names crossed out until you add them to the Department manually.
Need more help?
Please search for answers in the 🔍 Help Center or watch our ▶️ video tutorials.
Contact our support team via the blue icon at the bottom if you have more questions.
See related articles: