💡 Please note that deactivated employees do not count towards your employee count, and you will not be billed for them.
Deactivate an employee's Planday account
When an employee leaves your company, you can deactivate their account to prevent further access to Planday. To deactivate an employee, follow these steps:
Go to People > Employees.
Search for the employee you want to deactivate and click on their name.
Under the employee’s information overview, press the trash icon 🗑 to deactivate the employee.
In the deactivate employee prompt that opens you can either deactivate the employee immediately or set a future automatic deactivation date.
You will also need to choose whether to set the employee’s future shifts to open or leave them assigned to the employee if they will work their remaining future assigned shifts in the Schedule.
Finally, you can add a confidential note visible only to HR managers and Admins to document the reason for deactivating the employee.
Deactivating an admin who originally authorised an Integration/Open API app
Some integrations such as Square or Lightspeed Retail X-Series and Open API apps will stop working if they were authorised by an admin that is being deactivated by another admin. A modal will pop up to show if any of the qualifying apps are affected. The other admin will have to reauthorise the relevant integration.
To re-activate an integration go to Settings > Integrations > Overview, find the relevant one in the list and activate it. To reauthorise Open API applications, follow the steps in this article: How to use Open API to integrate with Planday.
Reactivate an employee's Planday account
To reactivate an employee, go to People and select the employee. Click the pencil edit icon next to their name and select Reactivate under User information on the left.
You can also see a list of deactivated employees by going to People > Employees > under the Misc section on the left, and look for the Deactivated list. Press the employee's name, and there you can find the option to Reactivate employee.
Set up notifications for deactivation
You can configure a message or SMS notification to be sent to you or your fellow managers when an employee is deactivated from Planday.
Go to Settings > Your organisation > Notifications > Deactivated, then add the required recipients. When selecting Add you will be shown a list of all employees. Only managers with access to deactivate other employees (with access level Admin or HR Managers) will be notified of deactivations.
Inactive employee account deletion
Following the right to be forgotten, under certain circumstances, and only on request and approval from a Planday admin, the Planday support team can act on requests to delete employee accounts permanently.
To delete an employee account, that account must have been inactive for 5+ years at a minimum. This is because data in the Planday is used for HR and payroll regulatory reporting by employers.
If an account is inactive for less than 5+ years, an employee must first contact their admin to see whether data can be removed. If there is agreement from the Planday admin that data can be deleted, then the employee account may be permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved at all. Data related to the account may also be rendered irretrievable.
We recommend that you only take this action when necessary and cautiously, as an employee will lose all payroll and HR history.
As an employee, to request an account deletion, please get in touch with your organisation's Planday admin first and then contact Planday Support team.
Automatically delete deactivated employee accounts
Depending on where your business operates, you may have a legal obligation as an employer to permanently delete information on former employees after their employment has ended.
This is also relevant for staying compliant with your employees’ right to be forgotten, according to GDPR legislation.
To automatically delete deactivated users from your Planday account, go to Settings > People > General > Delete deactivated Employees, to turn on the feature and set how many months after deactivation a user should be permanently deleted from your Planday account.
Need more help?
Please search for answers in the 🔍 Help Center or watch our ▶️ video tutorials.
Contact our support team via the blue icon at the bottom if you have more questions.
See related articles: