Skip to main content

Notifications Hub: Manage alerts and reminders

Keep track of important alerts and reminders in one place with Notifications Hub.

Written by Vanessa H

🔓 Access level in Planday: Administrator.

⏱️ Set up time: 1 min. Reading time: 6 min.

What is The Notifications Hub?

The Notifications Hub is a dedicated space in the top menu of Planday Web that proactively alerts you when something needs your attention.

It helps you keep track of important dates and follow up when a document is expiring, a note with a due date is up for review, or an employment contract has not been signed. By alerting relevant admins with a notification in the hub with a quick link that leads straight to the relevant employee’s record, so that they can act on important actions and resolve them right away.

Note: Alerts are sent to the Hub at 9am local time.


What type of notifications can you receive

Currently you can set up alerts for the following notification types:

  • File expiry– when an employee's document, such as a work permit, visa, or certification, is approaching its expiry date.

  • Contract expiry – when an employment contract is approaching its valid-to date.

  • Note expiry – when an employee note is approaching its due date.

  • Contract not signed – when an employee has not signed their employment contract after it has been sent.

There are default reminders set for each notification type, but administrators can change them from the notification settings page to what best fits their workflow.

Default reminder times are:

Notification type

First reminder

Second reminder

File expiry

7 days before

1 day before

Contract expiry

7 days before

1 day before

Note expiry

7 days before

1 day before

Contract not signed

3 days after

7 days after


Who receives notifications

By default, notifications are sent to access levels with the relevant permissions. On the Document reminders page, admins can choose exactly who receives each notification, as long as the chosen recipient holds the right permission.

You can choose between one of these recipients:

  • Access level permissions – Notifies all managers in the selected access level. Managers will only receive notifications for employees belonging to the department they have permission for.

  • Individual recipients – notifies only specific managers. Managers will only receive notifications for employees belonging to the department they have permission for.

  • Employee’s supervisor – notifies the supervisor for each employee.

Note: If you don’t see the supervisor field it could be because this feature is not available in your workspace. Learn more about How to use the Supervisor feature.

Important information about recipients

  • A manager never receives a notification about themselves, even if they would otherwise qualify as a recipient.

  • Employees don't receive their own document, contract, or note reminder notifications.

  • Each recipient can turn off a notification type in their personal settings.


How to set up Notifications in your workspace

Go to Planday web > Settings > Your organisation > Notifications > Document reminders:

  1. Find the notification type you want to set up.

  2. Choose who should receive the notification by adding recipients.

  3. Choose when the first or second reminder should be sent.

  4. Press Save.


View and manage notifications

To view your notifications, select the bell icon in the top navigation bar to open the Notifications Hub. A live badge shows the number of notifications in the Hub.

Select a notification to open the relevant employee record and review the current information.

The notifications show a snapshot of the information available when they are created. If the document, contract, or note changes afterwards, the notification itself doesn't update.

  • Notifications are kept for six months and then expire automatically.

  • Notifications aren't a permanent record or an audit log and cannot be exported.

You can manage which notification types you want to receive by pressing the bell icon > settings icon - and turning the toggle on or off for the select notifications.

These settings only affect your own notifications and wont effect the notification settings for other recipients or the workspace.


ℹ️ Need more help?

🔍 Search the Help Center | See videos at Tutorials.Planday.com | Watch a webinar

💬 For personalised support

Login and contact our support team via the blue icon at the bottom if you have more questions or book a one-to-one professional training session with an expert.

Did this answer your question?