All Collections
Leave & Overtime
Set up leave
Set up leave policies & accounts
Leave accounts — FAQs and troubleshooting for admins
Leave accounts — FAQs and troubleshooting for admins

Frequently asked questions and answers regarding your employees' leave accounts

Maud avatar
Written by Maud
Updated today

🎯 For advanced admins with full access to Planday. If you do not see the leave option as a manager, have your Planday admin assign you higher access.

If you're an employee and you're looking for answers about Holiday, you can go to Time off in our Planday app for employees - FAQs.

The UK government introduced a new Holiday entitlement reform for irregular and part-year workers that came into effect on 1 April 2024.


If you are in the UK, consider taking the optional steps outlined in Preparing for the 2024 UK Leave Reform to ensure a smoother transition to the new calculation method.


Create leave accounts

Why can’t I create a leave account for an employee?

If you’re trying to apply a leave account to an employee but you can’t choose the employee’s name from the list, it could be due to one of these reasons:

  • the employee doesn’t belong to the department, employee group or employee type the leave policy should apply to. To solve this:

    • Go to Settings > Leave & Overtime > Policies

    • In the Assign section, check that the right departments, employee groups and employee types are selected.

  • the leave policy you’re trying create the employee’s account from has been deleted. To check this, go to Settings > Leave & Overtime > Policies and check if the policy is in the list. If it isn’t you’d need to create a new one and create a new account for the employee.

  • the employee already has a leave account applied. To check this, go to Schedule > Leave accounts, adjust the period filter and choose All in Status, because the account could be active or inactive.


Carry-over accounts

My carry-over accounts haven’t been created. Why is it so?

There could be different reasons for this:

  • The carry-over option is disabled in the employee’s individual account. To check this, go to Schedule > Leave accounts > edit the employee’s account.

Note: Selecting the carry-over option in a leave policy does not affect already created accounts from that policy. Therefore, you need to manually edit each employee’s leave account to enable the carry-over settings.

  • Some leave requests that are linked to the expired account haven’t been processed (approved or denied).

As you can’t enable carry-over on an expired account, you would need to make a manual adjustment to the employee’s new leave account.


How can I enable carry-over after leave accounts are created?

First, you would need to enable carry-over in your leave policy by selecting Allow carry-over for the next period. To edit your existing account template, go to Settings > Leave & Overtime (or Absence, Overtime, Vacation) > Policies.

Note: Selecting the carry-over option in a leave policy does not affect already created accounts from that policy. Therefore, you need to manually edit each employee’s leave account to enable the carry-over settings.

  • Make sure that you do this before the leave accounts expire

  • Make sure that all the leave requests for these accounts have been approved or denied


How do I disable carry-over?

You can disable carry-over in your leave policy by deselecting Allow carry-over for the next period. To edit your existing leave account templates, go to Settings > Leave & Overtime (or Absence, Overtime, Vacation) > Policies.

Note: Deselecting the carry-over option in a leave policy does not affect already created accounts from that policy.

If you need to disable carry-over on your existing leave accounts, you need to manually edit each employee’s leave account to prevent carry-over from happening. Select the account > scroll to Max allowed carry-over to next period > enter 0 (zero) > click Save.

You can’t disable carry over on an already expired account.
If you are unsure or need help, please contact our support team before your leave account expiration date.

Note: Disabling carry-over means that any unused balance will not be transferred to a new account and will expire. If you decide to utilise this leave later, download a report with the existing leave and manually add the carry-over leave to each employee as a starting balance by making a manual adjustment to the account.


Reactivate leave accounts

What happens if someone leaves and returns to work within the same leave year? When the employee returns, will the holiday accrual start from 0?

If the employee is deactivated, their leave account becomes inactive. Therefore, you'll need to create a new account for the employee by following these steps:

  • Go to Schedule > Leave accounts (or Absence accounts).

  • Set the period filter to cover the period from the start of the employee's inactive holiday account until the date when the employee was deactivated.

  • Choose the status Inactive.

  • Look at the Available balance; this represents the balance the employee had left on the date of deactivation.

  • If you haven't already paid out this remaining balance, you'll need to insert it as the start balance of the new account.

  • Apply a new leave account to the employee and make a manual adjustment to the employee’s new leave account.


I reactivated some employees but I can’t book holidays on their leave account. What do I do?

When you deactivate an employee, their leave account is automatically deactivated and you can’t change the accruing and spending periods nor request a holiday on it.

​You would need to reach out to our support team so they can help you make some changes to this account or assign a new Leave account to the employee.


I reactivated some employees but on a different contract. What do I do with their leave accounts?

You would need to apply a new leave account to them and set the start date for accruing to the start date of the contract. Otherwise, the system will take the hiring date of the employee.


Delete leave accounts

How do I delete Leave accounts and Leave policies?

  • You can delete a Leave policy by going to Settings > Leave & Overtime > Policies. Select the relevant policy from the list and click on Delete.

If you only delete a policy, this will not delete the leave accounts created from it, but they’ll become inactive.

Keep in mind that deleting a policy may result in the loss of all associated data.

  • You can delete a Leave account by going to Schedule > Leave accounts. In the account row, select the delete icon on the far right.

You must first have processed all pending requests before deleting an account.


See related articles:

ℹ️ Need more help?

🔍 Search the Help Center | See videos at Tutorials.Planday.com | Watch a webinar

💬 For personalised support

Login and contact our support team via the blue icon at the bottom if you have more questions or book a one-to-one professional training session with an expert.


Did this answer your question?