All Collections
Billing & Subscriptions
Invoices and billing — FAQs and troubleshooting
Invoices and billing — FAQs and troubleshooting

Find information on the content of your invoice and questions regarding billing changes.

Saad Saeed avatar
Written by Saad Saeed
Updated over a week ago

🎯 For Account admins. Looking for information on payment methods in Planday? See What are my payment options article.


Where can I find my invoices?

You can access the Account area by going to your profile on the top right corner of the screen > Account > Invoices. Here you can see a list of all your past invoices that you can download as files in PDF format.

Invoices are also sent to the email address registered to receive them for your account, regardless of which payment option you use.

Note: You need to be an Account admin to be able to see the Account section.


What is included in my invoice?

  • An invoice is addressed to the billing address you have provided.

  • Under Details, you will find the invoice number, date, customer number and due date on the right-hand side.

  • Below, you will find a list of cost items with subscription and user fees. If you use the SMS features, SMS charges will be listed here.

  • If you have not set up an automatic payment option, you can transfer the amount due to the account indicated at the bottom of the invoice.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.001.png

How does the billing for user fees work?

In Planday, users (employees) are billed in increments of five according to the Terms and Conditions: If you have six users, your bill will be calculated for ten user licenses.

If you add more employees to Planday, your invoices will automatically reflect this. The same applies if you reduce the number. You are not billed for deactivated employees. This means you must deactivate employees before the last day of your billing period for the reduction to be reflected in the subsequent bill.

A minimum of 5 users are charged in the Starter package, a minimum of 10 users in the Plus package (Minimum limit reduced from 20 to 10 for subscriptions signed up from 10 May 2023), and a minimum of 50 in the Pro package.

If you have annual billing and need to report a user count increase, please email:


How does the billing of additional users work?

If you add additional active users during an already billed period, you will see the cost item Additional Users on your next invoice, displaying the cost for these added users.

Patricks_Screenshots_DE.001.png

Example:

  • You were charged 20 users in your invoice for March.

  • On March 15th – i.e. during the period already billed – you added 6 more (active) employees to Planday. Since users are billed in increments of five, the number is rounded up from 6 to 10 users.

  • In the invoice for April, you are retroactively charged the costs for these (rounded up) 10 users for the period from March 15th - 31st: You will find this as a cost item on the first page of the invoice*, and in more detail on the second page of the invoice.
    * The number of users on the first page may be rounded up or down.

  • The calculation in concrete terms:
    → User fee per user per month (exemplary amount): £3.49
    → Number of additional users: 10
    → Price for the entire month: 10*£3.49 = £34.90
    → Number of days not yet charged (period March 15th - March 31st): 17
    → Price for 17 days: £34.90/31 days(March)*17 = £19.14

  • From the invoice for April, you will also be charged for 30 users (20 plus those added in March).

💡 Note: If you deactivate users in a billing period that has already been invoiced, the invoicing will not change retroactively. The respective number of active users at the start of the billing period is calculated for the following invoice – regardless of the number of active users in the previous billing period.


Unexpected costs are appearing on my bill. What is the reason for this?

  • Users fee - Note that users are charged in increments of 5. For more information, see the notes above.

  • Additional users - This cost item refers to users from the previous billing period that are retrospectively billed. Find more information above under the question How does the billing of additional users work?

  • SMS charges - If you use SMS functions (e.g. sending reminders or notifications), the SMS rates of Planday's mobile service provider apply according to your contract. The cost as of 05/23 is €0.08 plus VAT per SMS. If you have questions about this, feel free to email:

If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to contact us by email at:

Please remember to include your invoice or customer number contacting us via email.


How can I change the address on my Planday invoices?

Please include your company name, customer number, and the desired new billing address in the email and send it to:


How can I change the name of my company on the invoices?

Please include your company name, customer number, and the desired new changes in the email and send it to:

If the VAT or commercial register numbers have changed, outgoing and incoming parties must sign a Novation Agreement. For this, Planday needs the following details from both parties:

  • Name of the company

  • Trade register number / VAT. ID number

  • Registered company address

  • Full name and contact e-mail address of the owner or authorised signatory.

  • Please also provide the new billing e-mail address.

    Once all information is submitted, Planday will create a Novation Agreement and forward it to all parties to sign electronically. The changes will be implemented after the signature.

Novation is a replacement of a contract's party or obligation with a new one. The new party takes on the obligation of the original party and completely releases the former party of that obligation. The novation agreement must be signed by the transferor, the transferee, and the counterparty (the other contracting party).


What happens if I have not paid an invoice?

In this case, we will send you payment reminders to the e-mail address registered with your account. You will receive these reminders approximately 8 and 16 days after the invoice due date.

After the second reminder is sent to you, administrators will see an alert in Planday informing them that there are outstanding payments and a due date before a payment must be made before your Planday account will be blocked.

Planday EN Screenshots for HC.001.png

What can I do if my Planday account has been blocked?

In this case, please contact the support team by emailing them at:

They will be able to explain the reason for the block, let you know which invoices are awaiting payment, and what steps are necessary to remove the block.


See related articles:

ℹ️ Need more help?

🔍 Search the Help Center | See videos at Tutorials.Planday.com | Watch a webinar

💬 For personalised support

Login and contact our support team via the blue icon at the bottom if you have more questions or book a one-to-one professional training session with an expert.

Did this answer your question?